Life

I cried in front of my toddler and it’s bothering the fuck out of me.

The title pretty much explains it.

Husband and I had another fight last night. He got super angry….the angrier he got, the cooler my attitude got. He called me an ice queen and stormed out. When he left, I sat down on the bed with my daughter and just….started to cry. It happened unexpectedly. I wasn’t prepared.

She was alarmed. Mommy never cries. “Are you okay?” she asked, in her garbled, two-year old voice. I nodded and tried to smile, but ended up crying harder. She patted me on the back and then moved to sit in my lap. I had to laugh through my tears at the irony of it all…my toddler was comforting me! And then I felt horrible. As her mother, I’m supposed to be comforting her, not the other way around. Right?

There’s no resolution to this post either. Husband and I went our separate ways after we put her to bed, tension and sadness rife in the atmosphere.

4 thoughts on “I cried in front of my toddler and it’s bothering the fuck out of me.

Leave a Reply

